Springe zum Hauptinhalt »

Seiten durchsuchen

0 Artikel, 0,00 €
zum Warenkorb »

Your Shopping cart is empty.


In a Different Time. The Inside Story Of The Delmas Four

In a Different Time. The Inside Story Of The Delmas Four

In a Different Time tells the story of four young South Africans (Delmas Four) who kill for political reasons.
Harris, Peter

sofort lieferbar

22,00 €
inkl. 7% MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Weitere Empfehlungen zu In a Different Time. The Inside Story Of The Delmas Four

Title: In a Different Time
Subtitle: The Inside Story Of The Delmas Four
Author: Peter Harris
Type: History
Imprint: Umuzi
Publisher: Randomhouse Struik
Cape Town, South Africa 2008
ISBN 9781415200490 / ISBN 978-1-4152-0049-0
Softcover, 15x22 cm, 318 pages


In a Different Time is set in a South Africa gripped by unrest and political tension, when the ANC was in exile and repression at its height. It tells the story of the Delmas Four who, in 1987, embark on a mission that will ultimately take them to Death Row. Jabu Masina, Ting Ting Masango, Neo Potsane and Joseph Makhura form a highly trained and experienced assassination squad reporting directly to Chris Hani, commander of Mkonto we Sizwe (MK, the anti-apartheid resistance movement).

The narrative details their infiltration into the country, their operations, arrest and subsequent trial - showing these men to be the foot soldiers who have sacrificed everything. As their trial unfolds, with their attorney fighting againsts impossible odds to save them from the gallows, so too does the story of their own lives and the choices they make. Into this storyline Peter Harris, the attorney to the four and narrator of the book, weaves another strand of narrative: the construction of a bomb and its deadly journey towards its target.

The result is a tale of bizarre coincidence and tragedy, a riveting courtroom drama, and a real-life political thriller that tells of the acts people will commit to preserve the status quo, and the extraordinary lengths to which people go in order to fight for what they believe. In a Different Time: The Inside Story Of The Delmas Four also won the Jenny & Co Best Non-fiction Book of the Year 2008 and the Jenny & Co Best Book of the Year 2008.

Auszug aus diesem Buch: