Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

0 items, € 0.00
To the cart »

Your Shopping cart is empty.

 

The Prisoner of War Tokens of German South West Africa

The Prisoner of War Tokens of German South West Africa

A very interesting description of the Prisoner of War Tokens of German South West Africa and a historical overview.
13033
99916-40-43-6
new

In stock

€ 9.95
Incl. 7% tax, excl. shipping
Book title: The Prisoner of War Tokens of German South West Africa
Author: Gordon McGregor
Namibia Scientific Society
Windhoek, Namibia 2003
ISBN 99916-40-43-6 Namibia
ISBN 978-3936858488 Europe
Softcover, 15x21 cm, 34 pages, b/w photos, text in German and English


Extract:

At some stage during my years of collecting I acquired a round brass token with a small Imperial German Eagle and a number stamped on it. Not knowing what it was, the token was relegated to my box of “unknown" items. While doing research on my publication, The Native Pass Tokens of German South West Africa, I found a reference about prisoner of war tokens which I fleetingly followed up and then only did I recognise the unknown token as a prisoner of war token.

Now that the token that I had in my possession was identified and, as prisoner of war tokens did not fall within the scope of my research for the above book, I decided to research this token at a later stage. The result of the research on the prisoner of war tokens of German South West Africa are now laid out and documented below.

The token was made of brass sheet metal for males and tin sheet metal for females, round in shape, 45 millimetres in diameter, with no rim, and l millimetre thick. Two small holes, 5 millimetres in diameter, were punched at the top for Suspension. Obverse: Just below the holes is a small Imperial German Eagle 9 millimetres in height. Below the Imperial Eagle, space was left for an 8 millimetres high number to be stamped onto the token. […]

Springe zum Hauptinhalt »

Seiten durchsuchen

0 Artikel, 0,00 €
zum Warenkorb »

Your Shopping cart is empty.

 

Die Kriegsgefangenenmarken von Deutsch-Südwestafrika

Die Kriegsgefangenenmarken von Deutsch-Südwestafrika

Eine sehr interessante Beschreibung der Kriegsgefangenenmarken von Deutsch-Südwestafrika mit geschichtlichem Abriß.
13033
99916-40-43-6
neu

sofort lieferbar

9,95 €
inkl. 7% MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Buchtitel: Die Kriegsgefangenenmarken von Deutsch-Südwestafrika
Autor: Gordon McGregor
Namibia Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
Windhoek, Namibia 2003
ISBN 99916-40-43-6 Namibia
ISBN 9783936858488 Deutschland
Broschur, 15x21 cm, 34 Seiten, sw-Fotos, Text in Deutsch und Englisch


Auszug:

Irgendwann während der vielen Jahre des Sammelns bekam ich eine runde Erkennungsmarke aus Messing, auf der ein kleiner kaiserlicher deutscher Adler und eine Nummer eingestanzt waren. Da ich nicht wusste, um was es sich handelte, flog die Erkennungsmarke in meine Schachtel der „unbekannten Gegenstände". Als ich mit der Forschung meiner Publikation, Die Eingeborenen-Passmarken von Deutsch-Südwestafrika beschäftigt war, fiel mir ein Vermerk über Erkennungsmarken für Kriegsgefangene in die Hände.

Da die Kriegsgefangenenmarken nicht Bestandteil der Forschung für das oben erwähnte Buch waren, beschäftigte ich mich nur flüchtig damit. Ich stellte aber damals fest, dass die unbekannte Erkennungsmarke in meinem Besitz solch eine Kriegsgefangenenmarke war und ich beschloss, diese Marken später zu erforschen. Das Ergebnis dieser Forschung über die Kriegsgefangenenmarken von Deutsch-Südwestafrika ist hier dokumentiert.

Die Erkennungsmarke, mit einem Durchmesser von 45 mm, ohne Rand und 1 mm dick, wurde aus Messing für männliche und aus Weißblech für weibliche Gefangene angefertigt. Zwei kleine Löcher, 5 mm im Durchmesser, wurden am oberen Rand zum Aufhängen eingestanzt. Vorderseite: Gleich unterhalb der beiden Löcher ist ein kaiserlicher deutscher Adler, 9 mm groß, zu sehen. Unter diesem Adler ist genügend Platz frei für eine 8 mm große Erkennungsnummer, welche nach Bedarf einzustanzen war. [...]